The Rooster Crows at the Break of Dawn

My first morning in Thailand I woke to the sound of a rooster crowing outside my hotel window and, yes, it was the break of dawn, light just beginning to appear.

Again a Dylan line popped into my mind. I had always liked the line, though I don't recall ever waking to such a sound. I grew up in a small town where folks didn't keep chickens in their yards. Here I was in the second largest Thai city, Chiang Mai, but much closer to the actual source of food in people's lives. 

Rare as this sound at dawn had been in my life, it was repeated at the break of dawn for my first five days in Thailand, at two different hotels in two different towns, Chiang Mai and Lampang. I was rather enjoying this way of beginning a day, but it was not repeated in Singburi or Bangkok. And as I learned much later, this sound is nearly a universal sound in developing countries.

Don't Think Twice, It's All Right 

by Bob Dylan

It ain’t no use to sit and wonder why, babe
It don’t matter, anyhow
An’ it ain’t no use to sit and wonder why, babe
If you don’t know by now
When your rooster crows at the break of dawn
Look out your window and I’ll be gone
You’re the reason I’m trav’lin’ on
Don’t think twice, it’s all right

Read more: http://www.bobdylan.com/us/songs/dont-think-twice-its-all-right